GK Spotlight: Karmen Ewald

Genoa-Kingston Schools
2 min readFeb 11, 2019

--

At this small town school, we build big-time pride by creating deep and lasting bonds within our community. Each month, we’ll shine a spotlight on a GK staff member or student so we can get to know each other and share what makes us #GKProud.

Spotlight: Karmen Ewald

Tell us who you are! What’s your name and where are you from: Hi! My name is Karmen Ewald. I grew up in a very small town with a population of about 300 named Steward, IL.

Degree type: I earned my Bachelors in Teaching at NIU and my Masters in Teaching and Leadership from St. Xavier University.

Your role at GK and which building you work in: I am a 7th grade reading and language arts teacher and Community Impact Club leader at GKMS.

How long have you been with GK schools? 16 years!

A look inside Mrs. Ewald’s room at GKMS.

What is your favorite thing about your job? My favorite thing about my job is the wonderful students and fellow staff members I have the privilege to work with everyday. I am very blessed.

Why is education important to you? Education truly has the power to change lives.

Looking at the GK school community as a whole, what makes you feel the most #GKProud? I am most proud of the family feeling that I get being in Genoa and everybody’s willingness to help each other out no matter what the situation.

What do you like to do when you’re not working? Any unique hobbies or interests? I dig gardening, decorating my house, shopping, and spending time with my family, friends, and my 4 Siamese kitties. I am a self-proclaimed crazy cat lady (and proud of it).

Tell us an interesting or little-known fact about yourself: I am an animal whisperer and have owned everything from ball pythons and sugar gliders to stray opossums outside named Carl. Lesson learned, I am allergic to rats.

--

--